Chapter 2-Building the Foundation for Classroom Assessment

Summary: This chapter examines what it takes to create a safe and welcoming environment for assessment and evaluation success. By communicating with students, giving them time to learn and self-assess, as well as demonstrating what success looks like, students are able to feel safe, take risks, and ultimately succeed. In addition, establishing a community of learners through parent invitation and classroom involvement is essential when it comes to creating a positive and successful learning environment. 

Personal Response:

Personal Response: Often our favourite learning memories are ones where we received the greatest feedback. We felt accomplished and proud of the progress we had made and the success we had earned. In reflecting upon chapter two and building the foundations of a successful classroom, I remember many positive learning experiences I myself had. For example, when I was little I remember learning the time table and acing my test in a Grade Three Math test. The positive feedback that I received from both my teacher and my parents helped me to establish a great sense of worth and pride. Both my teacher and my parents helped me gain that level of knowledge through practice, repetition, and positive feedback. Feedback not only comes from our teachers, but also from our parents. In addition, as discussed in the text, it can also come from us through personal feedback. When we as teachers create an open and co-operative classroom, we are no longer the main source of feedback, and learning becomes more diverse and abundant. 

Leave a Reply

