Chapter 6: Involving Students in Classroom Assessment

Summary: Involving students in the assessment process is beneficial to their overall learning. By creating the criteria and rubric with them, having them self-assess and peer review, as well as collect and present their knowledge, we are setting them up to become life long learners. 

Connections:There was a time in Education when students had no voice in the assessment and evaluation process. Sadly, this even happens to students today. I had very few occasions of being involved in the assessment process, and often I was not even sure of what it was I was being marked on. So I would proceed with my poster project blindly unaware of what it was the teacher was looking for. While there does indeed need to be room for creativity and freedom within a project or assignment, we as students need a learning map with clear directions and signs. How are we to learn when we do not know where we are going? I feel this chapter really pointed out the key ways in which we can include our students in all steps of the assessment and evaluation process. In another class I am taking, I recently did a presentation on Kelly Gallagher’s Teaching Adolescent Writers. I have found this text very helpful in teaching strategies and advice for teaching English. One thing that I really connected between Gallagher and Anne Davies’ Making Classroom Assessment Work, was the focus on incorporating students into the classroom in order to achieve learner independence. By involving our students with choices, freedom, and control, they feel an important part of their learning. I want and need my students to be active learners who engage with the reading not by force, but instead by choice. In involving our students in assessment, feedback and representations of their knowledge, we are building this student autonomy which has a power impact on their learning not just today, but for the rest of their lives. Our class will be co-creating a rubric for our unit plan assignment, so this will be a great real life application of the strategy. I know it will be more time consuming and difficult to create a criteria as a classroom, but if it garners us better results in the long run isn’t it worth it? I am interested to see how it is done as I have never experienced co-creating a rubric before. I am looking forward to learning from my teacher’s strategy and approach. 

One question I still have after reading the chapter and discovering more about student involved assessment and evaluation this semester is how to get students engaged in it? Some learners will not be excited or have an interest in co-creating a rubric, so how do I communicate the importance and benefits on a level they can connect with?

 

Leave a Reply

