Week Six Reflection

This week we read a controversial article on including behaviour marks in our students’ final marks. We all read the article with opposing views and afterwards we were able to discuss amongst our table groups. I found that I was torn between both sides of the argument. On the one hand a student’s behaviour is very important both in the classroom and outside the classroom. A student needs to work hard and cooperate with others, as well as show up on time and maintain a regular attendance. Without meeting these foundational needs, they won’t be able to move ahead in their studies and develop as a well-rounded contributing member of society. For these reasons, a part of me wants a student’s behaviour to be included as part of their overall marks. It is part of the reason for their success, so shouldn’t it be part of their marks as well? 

On the other hand, I know that sometimes students struggle more in different areas than others. Therefore she would punish a brilliant student for their struggle to use appropriate volume levels in the classroom? There are so many issues and hurdles that our students face that we do not know or understand, therefore are we in a position to judge them. For example, maybe a student is having trouble at home and that is causing them to be late for early morning classes. Should this reflect poorly on them academically? 

Grades have such a large impact on a student’s overall success, so these are considerations that must be made and considered very carefully. I am truly torn on this matter, so I will have to do more research and thinking before I enter the field as a teacher. The article we read was for keeping behaviour marks in students’ overall mark, and when it comes down to it, I think I would have to agree to a certain degree.

I wanted to do some more exploring into this issues, so I read a couple of articles and one that really stood out and seemed to portray my thoughts on the issues was found on learningdiversity.org. This article, posted by Jason Przypek states that while students should not be punished for undesirable behaviour, their good behaviour should somehow be represented. I agree with this and believe that students need to not only be able to know the answer to the test, but also be well-rounded respectable people as well.

We spent the last half of the class working on our unit plans with our partners. My partner and I have decided to create our unit on the B10 curriculum. It is nice to have the opportunity to work on these units with classmates and have our peers review them while we are still in university. It becomes a much less daunting task when your working with someone else, and often my partner and I have very different ideas so it helps create a varied and diverse unit plan. While we are still learning and figuring out the ins and outs of unit planning and the curriculum, it is so beneficial to review other people’s unit plans and see other perspectives and units. In the long term I hope to be able to continue doing this with my fellow staff members and networking colleagues. I’m beginning to realize more and more how large of a work load teachers have, so learning these collaborative and cooperative learning techniques helps make these large tasks not so impossible. Sometimes I find unit planning a struggle at first and its hard to see how everything will fit together until you have made some progress, so I am looking forward to getting to that point!

Resources: Grading: Should Behaviour Count? By Jason Pryzpek-Learning Diversity

http://www.learningdiversity.org/2010/12/grading-should-behavior-count/

Leave a Reply

